+ Follow This Topic

Thread: Crazy about this girl, but afriad to ruin it

Crazy about this girl, but afriad to ruin it

Hi everyone!

I’ve fallen head over heels for a girl. But to better understand my situation, I need to tell a bit more about myself and my past (with girls).

I’m a 22 year old student. When I was around 12, I was struck by extreme shyness and insecurity. I didn’t even dare to go to a store because I might be obliged to talk to people! Talking to girls was definitely out of the question. When I was 16, I started to come out of my shell, though with very small steps at a time. At this moment, I don’t have a lot of trouble with talking to strangers. Though, I still find it hard to have conversations, longer than 15 minutes, with people I only know a little. I don’t know what to talk about and when those painful silences fall, I think it’s my fault. Sometimes I still catch myself evading certain people. My anxiety is purely social. I don’t have any trouble with skydiving, for instance. 2011 has been a pretty rough year on me and my loved ones, but I won’t bother you with the details.

I have an unsatisfactory past with girls. In the past few years I’ve been rejected several times when I felt the girls I asked out, were really interested in me. The most recent one was last summer. After that one, I didn’t feel like trying to build something with a girl. A girl has shown interest in me since then, but I didn’t react much to it. I just didn’t feel like it. After being heavily disappointed a few times, I didn’t want to put myself in that vulnerable position again. While still trying to fully overcome my social insecurity, those rejections didn’t do me a lot of good.

And now the main reason I started this thread.

There is this girl. She’s the younger sister of a teammate from my football team. This could become a problem later on, but it’s not relevant at this moment. This teammate is a great guy and we hang out with other people occasionally.